Perspective.

In my last post I promised that my next would be incredibly negative and whiny. I truly wish that all I had to worry about past this week was Greg’s upcoming mid-terms and all the stress that precedes them, but unfortunately there were slightly larger events to occupy our minds.

Living in Grenada is like living in a bubble. Not only do we live, breathe, sleep medical school, but we’re also living on an island…in the middle of the ocean, often feeling completely isolated from the outside world. We see family and friends on Skype, talk to them through Google Voice, send emails,  follow Facebooks and blogs, but at times it just isn’t enough. There is such a physical void. You can’t hug your parents, kiss your grandma, or witness those spontaneous moments that connect why you are who you are. Worst of all, you are utterly incapable to do a thing when your closest family is grieving over a lost loved one. Between my family and Greg’s we lost two great, GREAT men in the last two weeks. Both due to cancer and both too soon. Times like these make me hate living here. Hate that we aren’t there to grieve with our families. Hate that a round-trip ticket home is $1,000. Hate that we are forced to continue to go about our lives as if nothing happened. While I could go on and on about hating this situation, my dad reminded me the other day, “You guys are there for a greater purpose. Greg is on the path to become a doctor…to do really great things in the future.”  Annnd in walks our good friend Perspective.

At a time that is normally incredibly trying on Greg, our relationship, and our overall sanity, the preparation for 2nd term mid-terms has been quite different than any testing yet. The loss of Greg’s grandfather and my Uncle John has completely put things into perspective. We’ve been so busy consoling each other and our families that we haven’t had a chance to bicker back and forth over whether I’m being too loud while watching The Bachelor or that he’s being a stress monster and taking it out on me. Getting upset over these minute details is just not worth it. While exams on Neuroscience, Physiology, Immunology, and Genetics may seem impossible…like they’re the end of the world, they are nothing compared to losing your father.

To brighten the mood I do have a bit of good news. My grandmother had surgery Thursday morning to relieve fluid that had built up around her brain. I, of course, was prepared for the worst possible outcome considering the events of the week, but fortunately was proven that I should be more optimistic. She came through her surgery with flying colors and is recovering at home. Thank God.

I’ve decided that I can’t allow so much time to pass until I see dear Perspective again. I’m not the best at staying in touch, my friends can attest to that. Although, I fear that if I don’t seek him more often (I’ve dubbed Perspective to be male) then I will be forced to…most likely in a way that is most unpleasant. I am a believer in that everything happens for a reason. We are here, like my dad said, for a greater purpose. It might take years to figure out why loved ones are taken from us when they are, if ever. But then again, it isn’t necessarily our job to understand. All we can do is live out each day being the best people we can possibly be. And, when we’re not…our friend Perspective is usually just a phone call away.

Leave a comment